Thurlow 10 Mile Race

happyrunner

At the beginning of the year I decided to run every race timed distance from 5k to Ultra within 12 months, so in my search for a 10 mile and 10k race I found this gem 1 week ago! Thurlow is a little village just outside of Haverhill on the Suffolk/Cambridgeshire border. It is organised by the fabulous Haverhill Running Club . It is a relatively low key multi terrain 2 lap course, relatively flat and very in expensive (£14 unaffiliated).

I opened the curtains this morning and thought BUGGER, it’s hosing down, steerrods, cats and bleeding dogs outside and I have not had chance to review/research rain jackets! Thankfully it eased and just travelled in base layer, singlet and shorts. I did pack a towel, warm clothes and spare socks and shoes just in case!

Registration was quick and friendly but the “Competition” looked stern and equally as quick, teams from all over had come to race either the 5 or 10 mile route including JAFFA a club with a ginger persons nightmare of an orange singlet.  We were off to the start at 0955 then YOUR OFF!!!, no warning, no countdown and a plethora of people scrabbling for their wrists to start their watches. The closed road helped with the mass start and before we knew it we were on the slippery muddy paths that I love. My Hoka One’s were performing admirably flying down the hills and softening the up hill undulations, the Marshalls were amazing and the water stations were well spaced along with the mile markers but I feel you only need 2 water stations on a 10 mile belt!

I normally hate lapped events but this one didn’t feel like one, the change from road to mud to track to forest broke things up nicely and may I stress the Marshalls were brilliant with their encouragement!

Before I knew it we turned into the finishing straight (I got distracted talking to someone with my fave asics trainers on! Yep I am a trainer nerd!) Felt strong stuck to my game plan  of negative splits and romped home in 1hr 13mins 23 secs ranking 31st overall 13th Under 40 male! BOOOOOM!

As I came through the funnel I got given my goody bag and then it was all over, I didn’t use the bag drop so couldnt comment on it, and I was really chuffed with the number clips given instead of a medal!

20161016_215030

 

All round this is a little gem of a race, cheap, cheerful well organised!! Well done Haverhill Running Club

Leave a comment